RaftingGround name index


© Copyright 1996-2019 Kerry Raymond and David Horton
Alphabetical index of given names, surnames and placenames
ABOLISHED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ABOUT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ACT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ALWAYS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ANOTHER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ANSWER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ANY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ANYONE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

APPEARS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

APPROPRIATE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ARE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ASSOCIATION IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

ASSOCIATION IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

ASSOCIATION IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

AUTHORITIES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BEING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BELLBOWRIE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BICENTENARY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BRISBANE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BURIAL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CARRYING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CELEBRATE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CEMETERIES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CENTRE IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

CENTRE IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

CENTRE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CHARGE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CHARGED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CHURCHES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CLUBHOUSE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COMMITTEE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COMMUNITY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COMPILED IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

COMPILED IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

COMPILED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COMPLAINED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COUNCILS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DESCENDENTS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DESPITE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DIG IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DOUBTFUL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DURING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

EACH IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

EDITED IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

EDITED IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

EDITED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ELAPSED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ELSE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ENCLOSED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FEES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FENCE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FIELD IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

FIELD IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

FIELD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FIFTY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FIRST IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FLOOD 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

FLOODLEVEL 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

FOUR IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FROM IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

FROM IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

FROM IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FUNDING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GAZETTE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GOVERNMENT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GRANTED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GRAVE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GRAVES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GROUND 100_2594

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

GROUND 100_2595

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Origin of Name - Rafting Ground

GROUND 100_2596

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

GROUND 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

GROUND 100_2598

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

GROUND 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

GROUP 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

GROUP IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GUM IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HAD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HAS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HAVE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HEATHWOOD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HERITAGE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HOOP 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

HOOPPINE 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

HOWEVER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HTML 100_2595

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Origin of Name - Rafting Ground

HTML 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

HTML 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

ITS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

KEPT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

LATER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

LEVEL 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

LIBBY IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

LIBBY IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

LIBBY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

LOCAL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MAP IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MAPS IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

MAPS IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

MAPS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MARKED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MARKER 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

MEMORIAL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MOGGILL IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

MOGGILL IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

MOGGILL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MOUNTAIN IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MUD IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

MUD IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

MUD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

NAME 100_2595

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Origin of Name - Rafting Ground

NAMES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

NOT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

OLD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ONE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ORIGIN 100_2595

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Origin of Name - Rafting Ground

ORIGINOFNAME 100_2595

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Origin of Name - Rafting Ground

OTHER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PALL-BEARERS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PARISH IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PICKET IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PINE 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

PIONEERS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PLANTING 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

PLOTS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

POSSIBLE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PROPOSED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PROXILITY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PULLENVALE 100_2594

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

PULLENVALE 100_2595

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Origin of Name - Rafting Ground

PULLENVALE 100_2596

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

PULLENVALE 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

PULLENVALE 100_2598

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

PULLENVALE 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

PULLENVALE IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

PULLENVALE IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

PULLENVALE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

QUESTION IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

RAFTING 100_2594

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

RAFTING 100_2595

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Origin of Name - Rafting Ground

RAFTING 100_2596

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

RAFTING 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

RAFTING 100_2598

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

RAFTING 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

RECORD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

RECORDS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

REMOVED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

REPOSITORIES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

RESERVE 100_2594

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

RESERVE 100_2595

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Origin of Name - Rafting Ground

RESERVE 100_2596

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

RESERVE 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

RESERVE 100_2598

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve

RESERVE 100_2599

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
marker - 1974 flood level

RESERVE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ROAD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SAID IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SAME IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SCOUT 100_2597

Pullenvale Rafting Ground reserve
Hoop pine planting by the Rafting Ground Pullenvale Scout Group

SEARCHING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SEEMS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SHARED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SHIRE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SINCE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SITE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SOLD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SORROWS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

STONES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

STUDY IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

STUDY IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

STUDY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SUGGESTED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SUITABLE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

THAT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

THERE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

THOSE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

TRACE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

TRANSFERRED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

TREE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

USED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

VISIT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WAGER IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

WAGER IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

WAGER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WARD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WASN IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WERE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WHICH IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WITH IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

WITH IMG_0462

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
Early maps show that the Temporary Reserve for rafting was on Pullenvale Road, just past the present Moggill Road intersection. Moggill (Old) Cemetery was later situated withing its boundaries.

WITH IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WITHOUT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WORKING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WOULD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie



Rafting Ground (Old Moggill)? in Pullenvale


Address: Hawkesbury Rd somewherePullenvale Road, Pullenvale. (Opposite Rafting Ground parks)
Opened: approx. 18xx
# graves: 2

More information
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
No memorials could be found. The area is now a sports field.


According to a book "Mud maps of Moggill" by Libby Wager [1988] (BCC library 994.21 MUD), This was Moggill (old) cemetery. It is now the Council dump on Pullenvale Road near Rafting Ground Park. Two Heathwood children were buried here, their graves enclosed in a picket fence. Later a gum tree marked the spot.

The location in Pullenvale Road appears to be completely wrong, and was most likely in Hawkesbury Rd, Moggill, QLD. Brisbane City Council has apparently surveyed the Pullenvale Road area with ground penetrating radar and has not found evidence of graves.

Photographed: Dec 2006


Displayed images are scaled down to fit on the screen, but full-size images can be obtained by clicking.


All the photos
Names in cemetery order
All the cemeteries

Generated on Wed Oct 16 23:53:32 AEST 2019