Moggill cemetery Brisbane name index


© Copyright 1996-2019 Kerry Raymond and David Horton
Alphabetical index of given names, surnames and placenames
ABOLISHED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ABOUT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ACT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ADRIENNE 148_4871

Joan Elizabeth RIGBY
? Feb 1938 to 15 Mar 2002
(husband Toby, children Georgna, Adrienne, Jennifer, Simon)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

AGNES 148_4896

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

AGNES 148_4897

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ALBERT 149_4909

Albert Shield
20-2-1914 to 11-8-2002
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ALDERMAN 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ALEX 148_4876

David Alexander Aspinall
16-2-1950 to 15-1-1998
wife Kym
children Joel, Leah
father Alex
Brother Robert
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ALEXANDER 148_4876

David Alexander Aspinall
16-2-1950 to 15-1-1998
wife Kym
children Joel, Leah
father Alex
Brother Robert
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ALICE 148_4883

Alice Kate Westaway
8 Jun 1946
77 yrs
husband
William Henry
18 Nov 1949
86 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ALL 149_4915

Saint Michael and all angels
Anglican, Moggill

ALWAYS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ANDREW 148_4868

Suzanne Jayne LUTTRELL
died London 11 Jul 1998
aged 28
daughter of Julie and Denis
sister of Andrew and Michael
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANGELS 149_4915

Saint Michael and all angels
Anglican, Moggill

ANNE 148_4880

George Edward
husband of Anne Jane BIRD
19 Nov 1907
68 yrs
son
Graham
26 Sep 1919
34 yrs
Anne Jane BIRD
18 Oct 1928
81 yrs
son
Edwin BIRD
28 Jul 1941
60 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANNE 148_4881

Anne Matilda BIRD
7 Feb 1960
83 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANNIE 149_4911

Annie Black
21 Sep 1941
aged 76
daughter
Beryl Ivy
1 Aug 1932
aged 17
William Black
6 Dec 1960
age 76
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANOTHER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ANSTEAD 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANSTEAD 148_4892

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANSTEAD 148_4893

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANSTEAD 148_4894

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANSTEAD 148_4899

William Anstead
B: 31-3-1904
D: 11-8-1989
Violet Anstead
B: 1-2-1900
D: 3-10-1985
Raymond John Anstead
B: 8-12-1947
D: 15-2-1979
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ANSWER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ANY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ANYONE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

APPEARS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

APPROPRIATE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ARE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ASPINALL 148_4876

David Alexander Aspinall
16-2-1950 to 15-1-1998
wife Kym
children Joel, Leah
father Alex
Brother Robert
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ASSOCIATION IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

ASSOCIATION IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

AUCKLAND 148_4870

Maurice Davis SUTHERLAND
b: Auckland 7 Dec 1917
d: Brisbane 14 Jul 2001
(husband of Margaret)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

AUTHORITIES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BACHE 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BACK 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BAINBRIDGE 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BAINBRIDGE 148_4900

Sth
Bainbridge
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BAKER 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BAKER 148_4884

John Modral Baker
12 4 1945
aged 74
wife
Minnie Baker
22 9 1956
aged 74
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BANKIER 148_4874

Neale Thomas Denholm Bankier
8 Dec 1950 to 20 Sep 1997
(Jenny, Shelli, Colin)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BEING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BELLBOWRIE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BERT 149_4904

Herbert W J Westcott (Bert)
14 Oct 1934
28 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BERYL 149_4911

Annie Black
21 Sep 1941
aged 76
daughter
Beryl Ivy
1 Aug 1932
aged 17
William Black
6 Dec 1960
age 76
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BICENTENARY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BIRD 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BIRD 148_4879

George Bird
8 Sep 1958
aged 56
John Bird
8 Oct 1982
aged 77
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BIRD 148_4880

George Edward
husband of Anne Jane BIRD
19 Nov 1907
68 yrs
son
Graham
26 Sep 1919
34 yrs
Anne Jane BIRD
18 Oct 1928
81 yrs
son
Edwin BIRD
28 Jul 1941
60 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BIRD 148_4881

Anne Matilda BIRD
7 Feb 1960
83 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BIRD 148_4882

John Bird
7 Feb 1935
65 yrs
Emily J Bird
5 Jul 1964
84 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BLACK 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BLACK 149_4911

Annie Black
21 Sep 1941
aged 76
daughter
Beryl Ivy
1 Aug 1932
aged 17
William Black
6 Dec 1960
age 76
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BOYLE 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BOYLE 149_4903

Patrick Boyle
8 Jan 1964
75 yrs
Mary Ethne Boyle
19 Mar 1992
91 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BRAMBLE 148_4872

Owen Bramble
7 Apr 1996
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BRENDAN 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BRIAN 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BRISBANE 148_4870

Maurice Davis SUTHERLAND
b: Auckland 7 Dec 1917
d: Brisbane 14 Jul 2001
(husband of Margaret)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BRISBANE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

BROWN 148_4892

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BROWN 148_4893

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BROWN 148_4894

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BROWNE 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BRUCE 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BRUCE 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BRUCE 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

BURIAL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CAMPBELL 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

CARRYING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CELEBRATE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CEMETERIES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CENTRE IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

CENTRE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CHARGE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CHARGED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CHRISTOPHER 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

CHRISTOPHER 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

CHURCHES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CLUBHOUSE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COLIN 148_4874

Neale Thomas Denholm Bankier
8 Dec 1950 to 20 Sep 1997
(Jenny, Shelli, Colin)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

COMMITTEE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COMMUNITY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COMPILED IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

COMPILED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COMPLAINED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

COUNCILS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

CURRIE 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

CURRIE 148_4898

Dougald, John, Robert and Daisy
children of John and Sarah CURRIE
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DAISY 148_4898

Dougald, John, Robert and Daisy
children of John and Sarah CURRIE
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DAVID 148_4876

David Alexander Aspinall
16-2-1950 to 15-1-1998
wife Kym
children Joel, Leah
father Alex
Brother Robert
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DAVID 148_4895

David Moffitt
23-10-1954
72 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DAVIS 148_4870

Maurice Davis SUTHERLAND
b: Auckland 7 Dec 1917
d: Brisbane 14 Jul 2001
(husband of Margaret)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DEAN 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DEBORAH 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DEBORAH 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DENHOLM 148_4874

Neale Thomas Denholm Bankier
8 Dec 1950 to 20 Sep 1997
(Jenny, Shelli, Colin)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DENIS 148_4868

Suzanne Jayne LUTTRELL
died London 11 Jul 1998
aged 28
daughter of Julie and Denis
sister of Andrew and Michael
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DENISE 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DESCENDANTS 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DESCENDENTS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DESPITE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DIG IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DON 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DOUBTFUL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

DOUGALD 148_4898

Dougald, John, Robert and Daisy
children of John and Sarah CURRIE
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DOUGLAS 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DOYLE 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

DURING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

EACH IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

EDITED IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

EDITED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

EDITH 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

EDWARD 148_4880

George Edward
husband of Anne Jane BIRD
19 Nov 1907
68 yrs
son
Graham
26 Sep 1919
34 yrs
Anne Jane BIRD
18 Oct 1928
81 yrs
son
Edwin BIRD
28 Jul 1941
60 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

EDWARD 148_4896

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

EDWARD 148_4897

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

EDWIN 148_4880

George Edward
husband of Anne Jane BIRD
19 Nov 1907
68 yrs
son
Graham
26 Sep 1919
34 yrs
Anne Jane BIRD
18 Oct 1928
81 yrs
son
Edwin BIRD
28 Jul 1941
60 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELAPSED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ELIZABETH 148_4871

Joan Elizabeth RIGBY
? Feb 1938 to 15 Mar 2002
(husband Toby, children Georgna, Adrienne, Jennifer, Simon)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELIZABETH 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELIZABETH 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELIZABETH 148_4889

Elizabeth, George and Walter (Sugars)
died in infancy
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELIZABETH 149_4901

Elizabeth Randall
23-3-1947
70 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELLEN 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELLEN 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELSE 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ELSE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

EMILY 148_4882

John Bird
7 Feb 1935
65 yrs
Emily J Bird
5 Jul 1964
84 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

EMILY 148_4891

Emily Olive Stafford
8-10-1909 to 7-7-1960
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

EMOKE 148_4873

Reverand Maria Zsoldos
7-4-1947 to 26-12-2001
aged 53
(husband Laszlo, children Emoke, Laszlo, Maria)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ENCLOSED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ERNEST 149_4905

Herbert E Westcott
18 Dec 1959
aged 79
Ernest Westcott
22-9-1920 to 25-12-2002
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ERNEST 149_4906

Herbert E Westcott
18 Dec 1959
aged 79
Ernest Westcott
22-9-1920 to 25-12-2002
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ETHNE 149_4903

Patrick Boyle
8 Jan 1964
75 yrs
Mary Ethne Boyle
19 Mar 1992
91 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

FEES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FENCE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FIELD IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

FIELD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FIFTY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FINLAY 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

FIRST 149_4910

James Shield
19-1-1901
age 80
Isabelle Shield
8-7-1908
age 86
Mark Shield
7-1-1906
age 48
James Shield was Moggill's first storekeeper and first postmaster 1861-77 and 1881-93
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

FIRST IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FOUR IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FROM IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

FROM IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

FUNDING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GAYLENE 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

GAZETTE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GEORGE 148_4879

George Bird
8 Sep 1958
aged 56
John Bird
8 Oct 1982
aged 77
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

GEORGE 148_4880

George Edward
husband of Anne Jane BIRD
19 Nov 1907
68 yrs
son
Graham
26 Sep 1919
34 yrs
Anne Jane BIRD
18 Oct 1928
81 yrs
son
Edwin BIRD
28 Jul 1941
60 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

GEORGE 148_4889

Elizabeth, George and Walter (Sugars)
died in infancy
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

GEORGNA 148_4871

Joan Elizabeth RIGBY
? Feb 1938 to 15 Mar 2002
(husband Toby, children Georgna, Adrienne, Jennifer, Simon)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

GIBSON 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

GILLOW 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

GOVERNMENT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GRAHAM 148_4880

George Edward
husband of Anne Jane BIRD
19 Nov 1907
68 yrs
son
Graham
26 Sep 1919
34 yrs
Anne Jane BIRD
18 Oct 1928
81 yrs
son
Edwin BIRD
28 Jul 1941
60 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

GRANTED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GRAVE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GRAVES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GROUP IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GUM IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

GUSCOTT 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HAD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HALLETT 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HANNAH 149_4907

MAKEPEACE
Thomas Tindale
7-9-1911
Hannah
16-2-1908
Thomas
12-8-1906
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HAS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HAVE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HEATHWOOD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HELENA 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HELENA 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HENRY 148_4883

Alice Kate Westaway
8 Jun 1946
77 yrs
husband
William Henry
18 Nov 1949
86 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HENRY 149_4908

William Leonard SHIELD
28 Mar 1918
age 65
William Henry SHIELD
23 Jun 1988
age 80
Jessie May SHIELD
15 Jun 1993
age 80
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HERBERT 149_4904

Herbert W J Westcott (Bert)
14 Oct 1934
28 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HERBERT 149_4905

Herbert E Westcott
18 Dec 1959
aged 79
Ernest Westcott
22-9-1920 to 25-12-2002
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HERBERT 149_4906

Herbert E Westcott
18 Dec 1959
aged 79
Ernest Westcott
22-9-1920 to 25-12-2002
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HERITAGE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

HOLZ 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HOOPER 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

HOWEVER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

INFANCY 148_4889

Elizabeth, George and Walter (Sugars)
died in infancy
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ISABELLA 148_4892

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ISABELLA 148_4893

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ISABELLA 148_4894

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ISABELLE 149_4910

James Shield
19-1-1901
age 80
Isabelle Shield
8-7-1908
age 86
Mark Shield
7-1-1906
age 48
James Shield was Moggill's first storekeeper and first postmaster 1861-77 and 1881-93
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ITS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

IVY 149_4911

Annie Black
21 Sep 1941
aged 76
daughter
Beryl Ivy
1 Aug 1932
aged 17
William Black
6 Dec 1960
age 76
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JAMES 149_4910

James Shield
19-1-1901
age 80
Isabelle Shield
8-7-1908
age 86
Mark Shield
7-1-1906
age 48
James Shield was Moggill's first storekeeper and first postmaster 1861-77 and 1881-93
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JAN 149_4903

Patrick Boyle
8 Jan 1964
75 yrs
Mary Ethne Boyle
19 Mar 1992
91 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JANE 148_4880

George Edward
husband of Anne Jane BIRD
19 Nov 1907
68 yrs
son
Graham
26 Sep 1919
34 yrs
Anne Jane BIRD
18 Oct 1928
81 yrs
son
Edwin BIRD
28 Jul 1941
60 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JAYNE 148_4868

Suzanne Jayne LUTTRELL
died London 11 Jul 1998
aged 28
daughter of Julie and Denis
sister of Andrew and Michael
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JENNIFER 148_4871

Joan Elizabeth RIGBY
? Feb 1938 to 15 Mar 2002
(husband Toby, children Georgna, Adrienne, Jennifer, Simon)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JENNY 148_4874

Neale Thomas Denholm Bankier
8 Dec 1950 to 20 Sep 1997
(Jenny, Shelli, Colin)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JESSIE 149_4908

William Leonard SHIELD
28 Mar 1918
age 65
William Henry SHIELD
23 Jun 1988
age 80
Jessie May SHIELD
15 Jun 1993
age 80
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JILL 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOAN 148_4871

Joan Elizabeth RIGBY
? Feb 1938 to 15 Mar 2002
(husband Toby, children Georgna, Adrienne, Jennifer, Simon)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JODIE 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JODIE 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOEL 148_4876

David Alexander Aspinall
16-2-1950 to 15-1-1998
wife Kym
children Joel, Leah
father Alex
Brother Robert
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOHN 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOHN 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOHN 148_4879

George Bird
8 Sep 1958
aged 56
John Bird
8 Oct 1982
aged 77
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOHN 148_4882

John Bird
7 Feb 1935
65 yrs
Emily J Bird
5 Jul 1964
84 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOHN 148_4884

John Modral Baker
12 4 1945
aged 74
wife
Minnie Baker
22 9 1956
aged 74
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOHN 148_4898

Dougald, John, Robert and Daisy
children of John and Sarah CURRIE
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOHN 148_4899

William Anstead
B: 31-3-1904
D: 11-8-1989
Violet Anstead
B: 1-2-1900
D: 3-10-1985
Raymond John Anstead
B: 8-12-1947
D: 15-2-1979
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOSEPH 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOSEPH 148_4892

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOSEPH 148_4893

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JOSEPH 148_4894

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JULIE 148_4868

Suzanne Jayne LUTTRELL
died London 11 Jul 1998
aged 28
daughter of Julie and Denis
sister of Andrew and Michael
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JULIE 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUN 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUN 148_4883

Alice Kate Westaway
8 Jun 1946
77 yrs
husband
William Henry
18 Nov 1949
86 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUN 148_4892

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUN 148_4893

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUN 148_4894

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUN 148_4896

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUN 148_4897

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUN 149_4908

William Leonard SHIELD
28 Mar 1918
age 65
William Henry SHIELD
23 Jun 1988
age 80
Jessie May SHIELD
15 Jun 1993
age 80
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

JUSTIN 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

KATE 148_4883

Alice Kate Westaway
8 Jun 1946
77 yrs
husband
William Henry
18 Nov 1949
86 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

KATHERINE 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

KEITH 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

KELLY 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

KELLY 149_4912

Len Kelly and Wendy Smith Memorial Shelter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

KEPT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

KIRSTY 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

KIRSTY 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

KYM 148_4876

David Alexander Aspinall
16-2-1950 to 15-1-1998
wife Kym
children Joel, Leah
father Alex
Brother Robert
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LASZLO 148_4873

Reverand Maria Zsoldos
7-4-1947 to 26-12-2001
aged 53
(husband Laszlo, children Emoke, Laszlo, Maria)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LATER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

LATHER 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LEAH 148_4876

David Alexander Aspinall
16-2-1950 to 15-1-1998
wife Kym
children Joel, Leah
father Alex
Brother Robert
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LEN 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LEN 149_4912

Len Kelly and Wendy Smith Memorial Shelter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LEONARD 149_4908

William Leonard SHIELD
28 Mar 1918
age 65
William Henry SHIELD
23 Jun 1988
age 80
Jessie May SHIELD
15 Jun 1993
age 80
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LESLEY 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LEWIS 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LIBBY IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

LIBBY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

LOCAL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

LONDON 148_4868

Suzanne Jayne LUTTRELL
died London 11 Jul 1998
aged 28
daughter of Julie and Denis
sister of Andrew and Michael
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

LUTTRELL 148_4868

Suzanne Jayne LUTTRELL
died London 11 Jul 1998
aged 28
daughter of Julie and Denis
sister of Andrew and Michael
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MABEL 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAKEPEACE 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAKEPEACE 149_4907

MAKEPEACE
Thomas Tindale
7-9-1911
Hannah
16-2-1908
Thomas
12-8-1906
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAP IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MAPS IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

MAPS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MARGARET 148_4870

Maurice Davis SUTHERLAND
b: Auckland 7 Dec 1917
d: Brisbane 14 Jul 2001
(husband of Margaret)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MARIA 148_4873

Reverand Maria Zsoldos
7-4-1947 to 26-12-2001
aged 53
(husband Laszlo, children Emoke, Laszlo, Maria)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MARIE 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MARK 149_4910

James Shield
19-1-1901
age 80
Isabelle Shield
8-7-1908
age 86
Mark Shield
7-1-1906
age 48
James Shield was Moggill's first storekeeper and first postmaster 1861-77 and 1881-93
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MARKED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MARY 149_4903

Patrick Boyle
8 Jan 1964
75 yrs
Mary Ethne Boyle
19 Mar 1992
91 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MATILDA 148_4881

Anne Matilda BIRD
7 Feb 1960
83 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAURICE 148_4870

Maurice Davis SUTHERLAND
b: Auckland 7 Dec 1917
d: Brisbane 14 Jul 2001
(husband of Margaret)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAY 148_4885

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAY 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAY 148_4896

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAY 148_4897

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MAY 149_4908

William Leonard SHIELD
28 Mar 1918
age 65
William Henry SHIELD
23 Jun 1988
age 80
Jessie May SHIELD
15 Jun 1993
age 80
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MCLEOD 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MEMORIAL 149_4912

Len Kelly and Wendy Smith Memorial Shelter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MEMORIAL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MERV 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MICHAEL 148_4868

Suzanne Jayne LUTTRELL
died London 11 Jul 1998
aged 28
daughter of Julie and Denis
sister of Andrew and Michael
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MICHAEL 149_4915

Saint Michael and all angels
Anglican, Moggill

MILLS 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MINNIE 148_4884

John Modral Baker
12 4 1945
aged 74
wife
Minnie Baker
22 9 1956
aged 74
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MITCHELL 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MODRAL 148_4884

John Modral Baker
12 4 1945
aged 74
wife
Minnie Baker
22 9 1956
aged 74
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MOFFITT 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MOFFITT 148_4895

David Moffitt
23-10-1954
72 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MOGGILL 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MOGGILL 149_4910

James Shield
19-1-1901
age 80
Isabelle Shield
8-7-1908
age 86
Mark Shield
7-1-1906
age 48
James Shield was Moggill's first storekeeper and first postmaster 1861-77 and 1881-93
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MOGGILL IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

MOGGILL IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MONTH 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

MOUNTAIN IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

MUD IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

MUD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

NAMES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

NEALE 148_4874

Neale Thomas Denholm Bankier
8 Dec 1950 to 20 Sep 1997
(Jenny, Shelli, Colin)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

NOEL 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

NOELEEN 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

NOT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

OLD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

OLIVE 148_4891

Emily Olive Stafford
8-10-1909 to 7-7-1960
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ONE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

OTHER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

OWEN 148_4872

Owen Bramble
7 Apr 1996
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

OWENS 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

PALL-BEARERS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PAM 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

PAM 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

PARISH IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PATRICK 149_4903

Patrick Boyle
8 Jan 1964
75 yrs
Mary Ethne Boyle
19 Mar 1992
91 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

PETER 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

PICKET IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PIONEERS 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

PIONEERS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PLOTS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

POOK 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

POSSIBLE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

POSTMASTER 149_4910

James Shield
19-1-1901
age 80
Isabelle Shield
8-7-1908
age 86
Mark Shield
7-1-1906
age 48
James Shield was Moggill's first storekeeper and first postmaster 1861-77 and 1881-93
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

PROPOSED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PROXILITY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

PULLENVALE IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

PULLENVALE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

QUESTION IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

RANDALL 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

RANDALL 149_4901

Elizabeth Randall
23-3-1947
70 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

RAYMOND 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

RAYMOND 148_4899

William Anstead
B: 31-3-1904
D: 11-8-1989
Violet Anstead
B: 1-2-1900
D: 3-10-1985
Raymond John Anstead
B: 8-12-1947
D: 15-2-1979
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

RECORD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

RECORDS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

REMOVED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

REPOSITORIES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

RESERVE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

REVERAND 148_4873

Reverand Maria Zsoldos
7-4-1947 to 26-12-2001
aged 53
(husband Laszlo, children Emoke, Laszlo, Maria)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

RIGBY 148_4871

Joan Elizabeth RIGBY
? Feb 1938 to 15 Mar 2002
(husband Toby, children Georgna, Adrienne, Jennifer, Simon)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

RITA 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ROAD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ROB 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ROBERT 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ROBERT 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ROBERT 148_4876

David Alexander Aspinall
16-2-1950 to 15-1-1998
wife Kym
children Joel, Leah
father Alex
Brother Robert
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ROBERT 148_4898

Dougald, John, Robert and Daisy
children of John and Sarah CURRIE
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

RODERICK 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

RODERICK 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ROPER 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

ROSE 148_4888

Rose E Sugars
12 Aug 1953
48 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SAID IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SAINT 149_4915

Saint Michael and all angels
Anglican, Moggill

SAME IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SANDRA 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SARAH 148_4898

Dougald, John, Robert and Daisy
children of John and Sarah CURRIE
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SEARCHING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SEEMS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SELINA 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SEXTON 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SHARED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SHELLI 148_4874

Neale Thomas Denholm Bankier
8 Dec 1950 to 20 Sep 1997
(Jenny, Shelli, Colin)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SHELTER 149_4912

Len Kelly and Wendy Smith Memorial Shelter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SHERRIN 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SHIELD 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SHIELD 149_4908

William Leonard SHIELD
28 Mar 1918
age 65
William Henry SHIELD
23 Jun 1988
age 80
Jessie May SHIELD
15 Jun 1993
age 80
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SHIELD 149_4909

Albert Shield
20-2-1914 to 11-8-2002
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SHIELD 149_4910

James Shield
19-1-1901
age 80
Isabelle Shield
8-7-1908
age 86
Mark Shield
7-1-1906
age 48
James Shield was Moggill's first storekeeper and first postmaster 1861-77 and 1881-93
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SHIRE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SIMON 148_4871

Joan Elizabeth RIGBY
? Feb 1938 to 15 Mar 2002
(husband Toby, children Georgna, Adrienne, Jennifer, Simon)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SINCE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SINNAMON 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SITE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SMITH 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SMITH 149_4912

Len Kelly and Wendy Smith Memorial Shelter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SOLD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SOPHIA 148_4885

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SOPHIA 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SORROWS IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SPOUSES 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

STAFFORD 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

STAFFORD 148_4891

Emily Olive Stafford
8-10-1909 to 7-7-1960
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

STANLEY 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

STEPHEN 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

STH 148_4900

Sth
Bainbridge
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

STOCK 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

STONES IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

STOREKEEPER 149_4910

James Shield
19-1-1901
age 80
Isabelle Shield
8-7-1908
age 86
Mark Shield
7-1-1906
age 48
James Shield was Moggill's first storekeeper and first postmaster 1861-77 and 1881-93
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

STUDY IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

STUDY IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SUGARS 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUGARS 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUGARS 148_4885

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUGARS 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUGARS 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUGARS 148_4888

Rose E Sugars
12 Aug 1953
48 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUGARS 148_4889

Elizabeth, George and Walter (Sugars)
died in infancy
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUGGESTED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SUITABLE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

SUTHERLAND 148_4870

Maurice Davis SUTHERLAND
b: Auckland 7 Dec 1917
d: Brisbane 14 Jul 2001
(husband of Margaret)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUZANNE 148_4868

Suzanne Jayne LUTTRELL
died London 11 Jul 1998
aged 28
daughter of Julie and Denis
sister of Andrew and Michael
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SUZANNE 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

SYD 148_4877

Edith Selina Browne
12 Feb 1920 to 12 Mar 2000
Raymond Joseph Browne
5 Jun 1912 to 15 Nov 1994
(daughter Sandra, sons Rob and Syd)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

TASMAN 148_4875

Tasman Noel Gillow
25-12-1918 to 18-7-2003
aged 84
husband to Rita
father of Noeleen, Suzanne, Denise, Robert, Stephen (dec), John, Julie,
their spouses Don, Dean, Peter, Katherine, Marie, Gaylene, Peter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

THAT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

THERE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

THOMAS 148_4874

Neale Thomas Denholm Bankier
8 Dec 1950 to 20 Sep 1997
(Jenny, Shelli, Colin)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

THOMAS 148_4885

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

THOMAS 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

THOMAS 148_4892

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

THOMAS 148_4893

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

THOMAS 148_4894

wife
Isabella Brown Anstead
B: 1 Jun 1891
D: 13 Oct 1956
husband
Joseph Thomas Anstead
B: 31 Aug 1876
D: 9 Aug 1969
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

THOMAS 149_4907

MAKEPEACE
Thomas Tindale
7-9-1911
Hannah
16-2-1908
Thomas
12-8-1906
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

THOSE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

TINDALE 149_4907

MAKEPEACE
Thomas Tindale
7-9-1911
Hannah
16-2-1908
Thomas
12-8-1906
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

TOBY 148_4871

Joan Elizabeth RIGBY
? Feb 1938 to 15 Mar 2002
(husband Toby, children Georgna, Adrienne, Jennifer, Simon)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

TRACE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

TRANSFERRED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

TREE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

TWIN 148_4869

John Brian Douglas BACK
22-03-1960 to 17-06-1999
remembered by wife Lesley,
twin 10 month sons Brendan and Justin
and parents Brian and Jill
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

TWINE 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

USED IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

VIOLET 148_4899

William Anstead
B: 31-3-1904
D: 11-8-1989
Violet Anstead
B: 1-2-1900
D: 3-10-1985
Raymond John Anstead
B: 8-12-1947
D: 15-2-1979
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

VISIT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WAGER IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

WAGER IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WALTER 148_4889

Elizabeth, George and Walter (Sugars)
died in infancy
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WARD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WASN IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WATSON 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WENDY 148_4866

Alderman Robert Mills
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers
Len Kelly
Mabel Kelly
Bruce Sugars
Wendy Smith
Merv Smith
Keith Watson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WENDY 149_4912

Len Kelly and Wendy Smith Memorial Shelter
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WERE IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WESTAWAY 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WESTAWAY 148_4883

Alice Kate Westaway
8 Jun 1946
77 yrs
husband
William Henry
18 Nov 1949
86 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WESTAWAY 148_4896

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WESTAWAY 148_4897

husband
Edward Westaway
2 Apr 1954
56 yrs
wife
Agnes May
10 Jun 1994
92 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WESTCOTT 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WESTCOTT 149_4904

Herbert W J Westcott (Bert)
14 Oct 1934
28 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WESTCOTT 149_4905

Herbert E Westcott
18 Dec 1959
aged 79
Ernest Westcott
22-9-1920 to 25-12-2002
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WESTCOTT 149_4906

Herbert E Westcott
18 Dec 1959
aged 79
Ernest Westcott
22-9-1920 to 25-12-2002
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WHICH IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WILLIAM 148_4883

Alice Kate Westaway
8 Jun 1946
77 yrs
husband
William Henry
18 Nov 1949
86 yrs
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WILLIAM 148_4886

Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WILLIAM 148_4887

Sophia Sugars
23 Sep 1914
83 yrs
Thomas Sugars
11 May 1915
80 yrs
Ellen Elizabeth Sugars
19-3-1937
husband
William Sugars
13-3-1954
(remembered by son Roderick, and grandson Bruce Sugars)
Roderick William Sugars
B: 3 Oct 1909
D: 26 Aug 1992
husband of Pam?
father of Bruce, Deborah, Elizabeth
Grandfather of Jodie, Kirsty, Helena? and Christopher
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WILLIAM 148_4899

William Anstead
B: 31-3-1904
D: 11-8-1989
Violet Anstead
B: 1-2-1900
D: 3-10-1985
Raymond John Anstead
B: 8-12-1947
D: 15-2-1979
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WILLIAM 149_4908

William Leonard SHIELD
28 Mar 1918
age 65
William Henry SHIELD
23 Jun 1988
age 80
Jessie May SHIELD
15 Jun 1993
age 80
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WILLIAM 149_4911

Annie Black
21 Sep 1941
aged 76
daughter
Beryl Ivy
1 Aug 1932
aged 17
William Black
6 Dec 1960
age 76
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WILSON 148_4865

Anstead
Bache
Bainbridge
Baker
Bird
Black
Boyle
Campbell
Currie
Doyle
Else
Finlay
Gibson
Guscott
Hallett
Holz
Hooper
Lather
Lewis
Makepeace
McLeod
Mitchell
Moffitt
Owens
Pook
Randall
Roper
Sexton
Shield
Stafford
Stanley
Stock
Sugars
Sherrin
Sinnamon
Twine
Westaway
Westcott
Wilson
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)

WITH IMG_0461

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988

WITH IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WITHOUT IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WORKING IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

WOULD IMG_0463

From "Mud maps of Moggill", compiled and edited by Libby Wager in association with the Pullenvale field study centre 1988
In the 1970s Moggill Cemetery was desecrated by vandals - headstones broken. The site was cleared by
the appropriate authorities and stones removed, it seems, without any record being kept. 'Descendents
of Moggill Pioneers' a group granted funding by Pullenvale Ward Bicentenary Community Committee to
celebrate their Moggill heritage, are working during 1988 to trace those buried there and to record their
names on a memorial and in other repositories.
However in searching the Queensland Government Gazette for possible records, it appears that the parish
of Moggill has had four cemeteries since the "Cemeteries act of 1865". The first was Moggill (Old)
Cemetery, now the Council "dump" in Pullenvale road near Rafting Ground Park. Folklore maintains two
Heathwood children were buried there, the graves being enclosed by a picket fence. A gum tree later
marked the site in memories of older residents. The cemetery was transferred under the City of
Brisbane Act of 1924 which abolished local Shire Councils. Fifty years have elapsed since that
cemetery was used, the Reserve has been acquired by the Kenmore Bowls club which plans to include a
suitable memorial to the pioneers in its proposed clubhouse.
Moggill (Town) Cemetery was to occupy Portion 144 Parish of Moggill, set aside in 1870 opposite the present Moggill Uniting Church at the junction of Kangaroo Gully, Witty, Prior's Pocket and Moggill Roads.
It is marked on the 1885 map of the parish as "Reserve". It is doubtful this site was used despite its
proxility to the churches as it was not transferred with other cemeteries in 1930.
In 1873, Portion 247 saddling Mt Elphinstone was reserved for cemetery purposes. Messrs. Butler, Ballard, Gregory, Jones and Pellatt were named trustees in 1876. Although it is believed three children are also buried there, the lone grave of Adam Walker is the only one marked. Paddy Pacey, one of the
pall-bearers in 1879, is said to have complained that he wasn't carrying anyone else up the mountain
as the pull was too steep. Brookfield became the preferred cemetery on that side of the parish.
To question about those buried in Moggill, the answer is always the same "No plots were sold, no burial
fees charged. The community shared each other's sorrows. One family would dig a grave for another at no charge ..."
suggested visit
Moggill Cemetery
Moggill Road, Bellbowrie

ZSOLDOS 148_4873

Reverand Maria Zsoldos
7-4-1947 to 26-12-2001
aged 53
(husband Laszlo, children Emoke, Laszlo, Maria)
Moggill Historic cemetery (Brisbane)



Historic Moggill cemetery, Brisbane


Address: 3132 Moggill Road, Bellbowrie, Brisbane
Opened: approx. 1856 (BCC 1932)
# graves: ~50 (memorials (some modern)), ~100 burials (fom Bruce Sugars site)
More information about
Brisbane City Council Grave location search
Moggill Cemetery..
Brookfield History Group
Descendants of Moggill Pioneers

Photographed: 30 Apr 2005




All the photos
Names in cemetery order
All the cemeteries

Generated on Wed Oct 16 23:40:56 AEST 2019