Back to Caboonbah

Caboonbah Undenominational Church

Founded 1905

The Caboonbah Undenominational Church is situated on Caboonbah Road, approximately 2kms east of Mt Beppo and 12 kms from Toogoolawah.

The land on which the Church is situated was donated by Henry Plantagenet Somerset, the original founder of "Caboonbah Station", together with standing green timber on Caboonbah, which was given in exchange for seasoned timber supplied by Lars Andersen who was a cabinet-maker in Denmark.

Caboonbah Church Katharine Rose Somerset designed the Church, and a unique feature is the verandahs on both sides, with one room for use by the minister and the other for mothers with babies. The high-pitched, shingle covered roof is now protected with corrugated iron.

The surrounding settlers financed the building and at one stage Mr Charlie Soden mortgaged his farm for 250 pounds to assist with the buildings. Trustees were elected to oversee the project. They were: Robert Dawson Soden, James Soden, Charles Soden, David Walker Smith, and John Thomas Milner.

Some of the early ministers were: Church of England - David Morgan Jones, 1905-1906, Methodist - Rev James Heaton, 1906, and Presbyterian - WJ Stevens, 1908-1911. Some early ministers travelled from Esk by bicycle or by horse and sulky.

The Committee for the Golden Jubilee 1955 purchased the Church Bible.

The Caboonbah Church is now incorporated and trustees are no longer required.

The Church does not have an established congregation. To maintain this historic part of our past the incorporated association relies on the occasional service, an annual combined Church service (October/November) followed by a picnic lunch, weddings, christenings, funerals and donations.

*This information has been taken from a pamphlet provided inside Caboonbah Church

Church Inscriptions