The Mount Beppo Apostolic community held its first services in 1882 soon after the land was selected and occupied. Evangelist H.F. Neimeyer rode over in mid-November 1882 and baptised three infants of the fourteen families. C. Meier, F. Marschke, and W. Greinke were instrumental in the formation of the Mount Beppo church. Carl Caspar Meier was born in Switzerland in 1853 and immigrated in about 1881 when he married Herminia Amelia Krause at Laidley on 15 November 1881. He selected block 148 of the Parish of Cressbrook in the Mount Beppo area, which he occupied on 28 August 1882. He was ordained deacon of the congregation in 1887 and services were held in his home. He served as deacon and then priest of the Mount Beppo Apostolic community until 1894. F. Marschke also became a deacon of the community during that time. In 1894 a church was built by Adolf Birron on Marschke's land opposite the school, using timber supplied by Henry Somerset, and in 1911 it was removed to its present location. Priest Meier, who could not swim, was drowned in McGovern's creek on 5 January 1898 when a flash flood came down after a cloudburst as he was taking produce into Esk. A new church, 50 by 25 feet with two porches, was erected in 1913. In 1929 the congregation expanded by spending £300 to shift the old Toogoolawah Union Church over and painted the whole building; the church has gone on to celebrate its centenary in 1984.

Enormous celebrations were held periodically when pastors from Hatton Vale like Rev. W. Niemeyer attended. One of the German Apostolic church's colourful traditions is to celebrate golden wedding anniversaries in the church. The couple enters the church followed by a long line of descendants. The 'bride' wears a golden crown of oak leaves and acorns with matching bouquets. Enormous corteges are characteristic of Apostolic funerals. When Rev. F.D. Lindenmeyer, ordained in 1900 and a keen rose gardener, died at the home of his daughter and son-in-law, O. Granzien, in November 1941, a milelong cortege followed his funeral. 33

The Apostolic Church commenced as the Union Church; on formation of the new Apostolic Church at Toogoolawah the congregation sold their old church to the Mount Beppo Apostolic congregation in 1929. Since the resumption of land in the Mount Beppo area for the Wivenhoe dam some of the Apostolic community has moved into Toogoolawah and swelled the congregation there.34

In the early 1870s the Church of England erected churches in the Fernvale area where there was a larger population. A new church, St Mark's, was built at Wivenhoe Pocket in 1886 and regular monthly services were held, alternatively by the Anglican priest, Rev. Wheatley, and Rev. Legate, a Presbyterian minister. The building was washed away in the 1893 flood and afterwards subscriptions were collected in Fernvale and Lowood to build a new church on a hill in Lowood. On 15 August 1896 the parishioners celebrated the church anniversary with a special service with popular preacher Rev. A.R. Bartlett from Ipswich, tea meeting, football match, and a concert in the evening. A. Bolden was Chairman of the Committee and J. Wade its Secretary.35

St Agnes's Church was built in Esk by Lars Andersen, a prominent parishioner, and dedicated on 29 October 1889 by Bishop William T. Webber, Rev. F.J. Leighton being the incumbent. The town had been served previously by priests visiting from Ipswich and holding services in the Union Church, later St Andrew's Presbyterian church.

After the Nestle's factory had closed, the Esk and Toogoolawah parishes merged to become the Brisbane Valley Parish. The rector appears to have lived in Toogoolawah from about 1933 and the Esk rectory was let. Rev. K.A. Watts had been at Toogoolawah.

The Anglican church built small churches wherever committees raised enough funds. Linville erected a new church in 1915 after the committee organized several concerts in Greber's Hall to raise money for the building and an organ.

St Agnes's church at Esk expanded during World War 1. The church committee in 1918 represented a wide spectrum of Esk Shire interests. C.F. Blank and J. Jones were church'wardens and the Parochial Council comprised E. W .McConnel, G .H. Handley, Baker, N.G. Buchanan, E. Lord, G.H. Langton,

Colin Hill, L. Andersen, E. Haupt, C. Lindley, G. Shambrook and R.Blank. The Esk Shire Council's only two shire engineers, P.W. Hill and Graham Wyatt have been Wardens. The Ladies Guild actively raised money for patriotic funds. and towards the church's new organ in 1918. In 1919 the new memorial organ was dedicated in memory of Captain W.J. Handley, killed in action in the Holy Land on 16 July 1918. The imposing Helidon sandstone pillars and iron gates, presented by Francis Edward Bigge, were designed and installed by Andrew Petrie  of Toowong in 1920. In 1949 a memorial window over the altar was dedicated at the diamond jubilee by Archbishop Halse in honour of John Jones, Eleanor Jones, and Constance E.J. Chittenden. Today the church and its picturesque grounds present a gracious entrance to the town of Esk and regularly one Sunday per